The Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows

Today the church celebrates The Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows. By the 14th century, the sorrows of Mary numbered seven:

  1. The presentation of Jesus in the temple
  2. The flight into Egypt
  3. Jesus being lost in Jerusalem
  4. The meeting of Mary and Joseph on the way to Calvary
  5. The crucifixion
  6. The taking down of Jesus’ body from the cross and
  7. His burial

Let us Pray. O God who willed that when Your Son was lifted high on the cross, His mother stand close by and share his suffering. Grant that Your church participating with the Virgin Mary in the passion of Christ may merit a share in His resurrection, who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God forever and ever. Amen.